But What If We’re Wrong?

What If We're Wrong.ashx

Read: 2017

Title: But What If We’re Wrong?

By: Chuck Klosterman

 

So this was one of the most mentally engaging books I’ve read in a while. It was almost worth it, spilling coffee on the pages and having to buy it from the library.

Almost. (Sacrilege!)

Although if I hadn’t abused the poor library book, I would have likely bought this one anyways – it’s just that good!

Klosterman goes about imploding heads as he tackles issues big (like gravity) and small (like god particles), and talks to experts in fields ranging from children’s sports to science, to everything in between just to ask the question – but what if we *are* wrong?

And what if we are?

I mean, alot of these arguments make tons of valid sense. Open the book to any random page, and start reading – you’ll soon find yourself nodding along, agreeing that there is validity to his arguments, even if you don’t particularly agree with Klosterman’s vantage.

This is a book that is not meant to be read in a single setting, but rather to be enjoyed in bits and bites, allowing time to digest the concepts and to raise your own opinions about the subjects. It is written conveniently into little essays, divided up by topic, but references other essays within the structure.

This is a book to break out at a party, just because the cover blows peoples minds, and then to start reading aloud, seemingly at random, and watch the conversation around you emerge. (I’ve done that!)

This is a book to take on a roadtrip (as long as you aren’t the driver) to pull out when the radio stations have all turned to shit and you can’t pick up a decent channel for miles. Trust me, this book will carry you to your destination, although the conversations may not end, even when you get there. (Done this, too!)

This is a book with footnotes, that make you wish that more books added footnotes regularly. Who knew that they could be so fun?! Outtakes of a busy mind that have to be added, but don’t fit the flow any other way.

This is a book that will go on the shelf to be shared and showed off as frequently as possible. Because…

What if we’re wrong?

 

About ermareads

I have been reviewing books professionally since I was 15, and writing books since I was 7. I have a discerning taste for literature, the first, and most lasting gift my father ever gave me. With reviews more frequently online, I thought I would join the excitement and share my knowledge of good books!

Posted on June 18, 2017, in Noticing Non-fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment