Book of the Week (6)

A day late, but here nonetheless:

This week’s choice is a classic, but one that is often overlooked due to the prominence of it’s graphic full-screen counterparts. But, the book deserves a place here, as does the author (all conspiracy theories about it’s authorship aside). SO without further ado:

 603259

By: Mary Shelley

A classic tale of creation, life, death, and morality – just because you can do it, should you? This should be required reading for all scientists, especially ones that deal closely with highly sensitive subjects, such as cloning, stem cells, and research.

Read my review on GoodReads here.

I think what I would most like to do would be to have a chance to interview Mary about her book, and learn more that the Introductions could ever explain. I mean, seriously, this was a key (if not the predecessor) title of modern gothic, horror, slasher films and books. Considering the market for such things (even during non-Halloween holidays you can find horror movies at the theater, and books abound at the bookstore). But, yet, this first novel lives on.

Do you agree? Disagree? Let me know!

About ermareads

I have been reviewing books professionally since I was 15, and writing books since I was 7. I have a discerning taste for literature, the first, and most lasting gift my father ever gave me. With reviews more frequently online, I thought I would join the excitement and share my knowledge of good books!

Posted on June 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

