Book of the Week

This week’s selection for Book of the Week is:

12796941

By: C.W. Gortner

This was an amazing book, which moved forward quickly, without being bogged down as some historical novels I have read were. The second book about the monarchs of Castile, this book details the life of Isabella of Castile, mother to the imprudent Juana (of The Last Queen).

I have not yet read the first book in the series yet. I have placed the book on hold already at the library, however, and am anxious to see how she is handled. This is historical fiction in it’s finest, and although some of the details have been scrambled a bit, and others entirely made up, the author is kind enough to detail these liberties, along with a summary at the end of the book. This was just as interesting a read as the story itself, although, truth be told, the story is what will stick in my mind.

Read the rest of the review on it’s page here.

Do you agree with my selection? My review? Let me know in the comments!

About ermareads

I have been reviewing books professionally since I was 15, and writing books since I was 7. I have a discerning taste for literature, the first, and most lasting gift my father ever gave me. With reviews more frequently online, I thought I would join the excitement and share my knowledge of good books!

Posted on April 9, 2015, in Children's Choices, Graphically Graphic, Noticing Non-fiction, Short Storys, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

